The Shire of Mount Magnet is made up of seven Councillors including the President and Deputy President who are elected to the positions by the Council. Local Government Elections are held in October every two years and Councillors are elected for a term of four years.

Information about eligibility and nomination procedures can be obtained by contacting either the CEO or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.

Enrolling to Vote
If you are a resident and already registered correctly on the State or Commonwealth Electoral Roll you are automatically enrolled to vote in the Shire elections. Owners or occupiers of Shire property who are not residents are also eligible to vote and need to apply to go on the Shire’s electoral roll.

Postal Voting
Election packages will be posted to absent electors on the roll by request. The packages can be returned by mail and it will be placed in a sealed ballot box.

The count commences at 6.00pm and the results will be announced as soon as possible after the count is completed.

More Information on Local Government Elections may be obtained from the

Department of Local Government website.

You can check your enrolment details on the

Western Australian Electoral Commission.